Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award

Sociology of Consumers and Consumption 

The Sociology of Consumers and Consumption Section Awards recognize outstanding scholarship in the sociology of consumption, broadly defined. This includes subjects dealing with theoretical and/or empirical questions related to consumers, commodities, and/or consumer markets, and engages with a larger body of research on these topics. Submissions for the awards must have consumption as the central focus, but may engage with other disciplines and sub-fields (e.g., sociology of culture, sociology of the body, environmental sociology, political sociology, economic sociology, etc.).


Deadline: Thursday, March 31, 2022

The Sociology of Consumers and Consumption Section Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award will go to the author(s) of the best published book or edited collection that makes a significant, original contribution to the understanding of ideas about and practices of consumption. Please note that the annual scholarly publication award alternates between books/edited collections and articles/book chapters. In 2023, the award will go to a published article or book chapter.

Eligibility: The competition is open to books and edited collections published in the last two years (March 2020-March 2022). Self-nominations are welcome.

Authors must be members of the Consumers and Consumption Section at the time of nomination.
•  Submissions must be published; manuscripts accepted for publication are not permitted.
•  Co-authored/edited submissions are permitted, provided the applicant is the lead author/editor.
•  The same publication may not be submitted for consideration for subsequent years’ awards.

To apply: Send a nominating letter that outlines the work and its significance, along with a hard copy of the book, to eachcommittee member at the mailing addresses listed below. Nominations not accompanied by a nomination letter will not be considered for the prize. If the book’s publisher will not send hard copies, please email Committee Chair, Michaela DeSoucey (mdesoucey@ncsu.edu), to discuss. The deadline for receipt of all materials for this award is Thursday, March 31, 2022.


Michaela DeSoucey (Committee Chair)

North Carolina State University, Dept. of Sociology & Anthropology

1911 Building, Campus Box 8107

Raleigh, NC  27695  USA

Jordan Foster 

556 Highvalley Road

Ancaster, ON

L9G 0G2  Canada

Amy Hanser

The University of British Columbia

Department of Sociology
6303 NW Marine Drive

Vancouver, BC  V6T 1Z1  Canada

Merin Oleschuk

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

904 W Nevada St. MC-081

Doris Kelley Christopher Hall

Urbana, IL  61801  USA

%d bloggers like this: